About us

IEEE Bombay Section was formed on July 13, 1976 from the erstwhile India Section along with Delhi and Bangalore sections. Initial territory of Bombay Section was Maharashtra, Goa, Gujarat. Gujarat separated in 1990 and Pune city in 2010. Now the territory includes Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Diu & Daman.

IEEE Bombay Section is a registered trust and is fully volunteer driven. The Section’s Office is located in the Don Bosco Institute of Technology, Kurla(W), Mumbai. Bombay Section is one of the largest sections in India with 7000+ members, out of which about 4200 are student members spread over about 100 student branches all over the length and breadth of the section geography.

The section currently runs 14 Societies, Affinity Groups and Communities.

Bombay section has conducted the first ever workshop on Microprocessor and its applications way back in 1977 – hardly anyone in our country had heard of the word Microprocessor by then. International Conference on Systems, Man and Cybernetics of the SMC Society was held in Bombay in 1984. This was the first conference of IEEE held in India. Bombay Section also hosted TENCON, the premier annual international technical conference of IEEE Region 10 in 1989 and many more prestigious conferences and other events thereafter.

For more information, please visit www.ieeebombay.org